Best Performance Motorsports

Main Top
Tyler Erb Scores Kokomo Thriller


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Tyler Erb Scores Kokomo Thriller

KOKOMO, Ind. (September 20, 2019) – Tyler Erb won the biggest late model race in the 72-year history of the Kokomo Speedway on Friday night in front of a packed house. The race proved to be a barnburner as Erb passed Hudson O’Neal on the 47th lap and then held off Jimmy Owens to score his sixth Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season.

Owens charged from the fourteenth starting spot to finish right behind Erb at the checkers. Hudson O’Neal had taken the lead on lap eight from Billy Moyer Jr. and received constant pressure throughout the 50-lapper, making for an exciting race for the lead throughout the event.

Hudson O’Neal began showing signs of smoke and then jumped the cushion in turn four as he and Erb headed to the start-finish line to complete lap 47. Erb was now out in front for the first official time during the race. Owens then got by Hudson O’Neal and began to track down Erb. Don O’Neal squeezed by his son at the checkers to finish third and Tim McCreadie finished fifth behind the O’Neal father and son combo.

Erb’s seventh career Lucas Oil victory came in a hotly contested race that saw three different leaders. “Man, that was an exciting race. We were all slicing and dicing out there. I have watched videos from this track and tried to emulate what some of the sprint car guys do here. We could get a great run off of turn two and a couple of times I had gotten by Huddy and then a caution would come out. Thanks to everyone at Best Performance for giving me this opportunity to race with them. It’s been a dream come true and hopefully we aren’t done winning the rest of the year.”

Owens; who won a week at ago at Knoxville; mostly used the low groove during tonight’s race to gain spots and take shot at Erb on the final lap. “I swung the car out wide and I hoped to get a good bite off of four but he [Erb] beat me to the finish line. That was pretty good race with O’Neal and Erb. Once I got up there, I thought here we go again it’s going to be another close finish and it was.”

Don O’Neal; who missed two and a half months during the summer recovering from knee surgery; earned a podium finish. “It’s been a long-time since we’ve raced here. I am not sure what was happening with Hudson’s car whether it was a motor or power steering, but I was able to get underneath him at the end.”

The winner’s Eric and Kelly Brock-owned, Best Performance Motorsports, Rocket Chassis is powered by a Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by: Industrial Resourcing Group, Roberts Bee Company, New Point Lighting and Design, Bazell Race Fuels, Sunoco, Franklin Enterprises, Valvoline, Keyser, and KBC Graphix.

Completing the top ten were Stormy Scott, Billy Moyer Jr., Devin Moran, Bobby Pierce, and Josh Richards.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday, September 20, 2019
Kokomo Late Model Shootout
Kokomo Speedway – Kokomo, Ind.

Miller Welders Time Trials
Fast Time Group A: Billy Moyer Jr / 12.660 seconds (overall)
Fast Time Group B: Frank Heckenast Jr / 12.682 seconds

Penske Race Shocks Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, All Transfer): Billy Moyer, Jr., Chris Madden, Devin Moran ®, Shanon Buckingham, Don O'Neal, Devin Gilpin, Jay Morris, Johnny Scott

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, All Transfer): Tyler Erb ®, Tim McCreadie, Scott Bloomquist, Earl Pearson, Jr., Jimmy Owens, Bobby Pierce, Robby Hensley, Kyle Bronson

Simpson Race Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, All Transfer): Hudson O'Neal, Frank Heckenast, Jr., Josh Richards, Jonathan Davenport, Stormy Scott, Steve Casebolt, Tanner English, Chad White

Lucas Oil Feature Finish (50 Laps):
1 2 1T Tyler Erb ® New Waverly, TX $12,800
2 14 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $6,300
3 13 5 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN $3,500
4 3 71 Hudson O'Neal Martinsville, IN $3,550
5 5 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $2,950
6 15 2s Stormy Scott Las Cruses, NM $2,500
7 1 21 Billy Moyer, Jr. Batesville, AR $2,200
8 7 1m Devin Moran ® Dresden, OH $2,000
9 9 14 Josh Richards Shinnston, WV $2,000
10 17 32P Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL $1,100
11 11 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $1,875
12 19 77m Jay Morris Watseka, IL $1,050
13 12 49 Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA $2,125
14 24 20w Chad White Benton Harbor, MI $1,000
15 22 1st Johnny Scott Las Cruces, NM $1,000
16 10 50 Shanon Buckingham Morristown, TN $1,700
17 4 0m Chris Madden Gray Court, SC $1,000
18 6 99JR Frank Heckenast, Jr. Frankfort, IL $1,000
19 18 C9 Steve Casebolt Richmond, IN $1,000
20 8 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $1,000
21 23 40B Kyle Bronson Brandon, FL $1,700
22 16 1G Devin Gilpin Columbus, IN $1,000
23 21 96 Tanner English Benton, KY $1,000

Race Statistics
Entrants: 24
Lap Leaders: Billy Moyer Jr (Laps 1-7), Hudson O’Neal (Laps 8-46), Tyler Erb (Laps 47-50)
Wrisco Feature Winner: Tyler Erb
Margin of Victory: 0.462 seconds
Cautions: Kyle Bronson (Lap 7); Scott Bloomquist (Lap 12); Josh Richards (Lap 35); Jonathan Davenport, Earl Pearson Jr, Johnny Scott, Josh Richards (Lap 39)
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Jimmy Owens (Advanced 12 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Jonathan Davenport
Allstar Performance Power Move of the Race: Stormy Scott
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Tyler Erb
Eibach Springs Rookie of the Race: Tyler Erb
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Durham Race Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Rocket Chassis
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Randall Edwards (Tyler Erb)
Dirty Girl Racewear Fastest Lap of the Race: Tyler Erb (Lap #5 – 13.140 seconds)
Hot Rod Processing Tough Break of the Race: Hudson O’Neal
STEEL-IT Most Laps Led: Hudson O’Neal (39 Laps)
PFC Brakes Pole Award: Billy Moyer Jr.
Time of Race: 41 minutes 12 seconds

Submitted By: Jeremy Shields

Back to News
Roberts Bee Company
First Class Septic
Bulk Material Lift
Anthonys Pizza
Keyser Manufacturing
Central Coast Tire
RR Design
KBC Graphics
Go Lithium
Day Motorsports
Simpson Race Products
Doyle Edwards Trucking
Wiles Racing
Weld Racing
Powers Performance
Heath Lawson Photos
Strange Engineering
Swift Springs USA
Impact Race Gear
Fragola Performance Systems
Walker Performance Filtration
Five Star Race Car Bodies
Barnes Dry Sump Oil Systems
All Star Performance
Clements Racing Engines
Industrial Equipment Rental
Penske Racing Shocks
Farm of Marcelles
Base Racing Fuel
Race Ranch
Pro FABrication Headers  Exhaust